Two new releases from Pterodactyl Squad

Pterodactyl Squad recently made it's first releases of the year with Videogame Orchestra's BiTBOTiZED, followed soon after by Bit_Rat's Alberta EP. As usual, both are available for free - go check 'em out while they're fresh!

In BiTBOTiZED, Videogame Orchestra have taken some of their favourite tracks from the 20th century and re-imagined them as if played and sung by old games consoles and computers. Rather than simple, innocent themes of love, these tracks are now bursting with 8-bit sounds and technological innuendo!

Download BiTBOTiZED by Videogame Orchestra

Bit_Rat went on a cheese binge and threw up this rad pile of chiptunes! Coded in one 15 hour sitting, the Alberta EP is a manic splurge of old school sounds with phrases of dubstep, metal and generally frantic rhythms thrown in for good measure.

Download Alberta EP by Bit_Rat

New NESMETAL EP on Pterodactyl Squad

Pterodactyl Squad have just dropped a new 7-track EP from NESMETAL titled Enthralled.

"Enthralled is an EP of two halves; the first sees NESMETAL experiment with new musical elements and ideas over the triptych of Ut Filiolus Palma, Labyrinth and The Risk, while the second is comprised of four rarities from various compilations and projects. But the real genius here lies in the first three tracks, where the addition of vocals and live guitar has pushed the NESMETAL sound to even further extremes in the pursuit and exploration of 8-bit inspired metal."

  1. Ut Filiolus Palma
  2. Labyrinth
  3. The Risk
  4. Bleed Cowardice (Bonus Track)
  5. The Throes Of Wickedness (Bonus Track)
  6. Throughout The Endless Ages (Bonus Track)
  7. Wily Castle - Stage 2 (Mega Man 10 Cover) (Bonus Track)

Noisewaves release self-titled debut EP on Pterodactyl Squad

Pterodactyl Squad's 25th release comes from the amazing Noisewaves, a chiptune/post-rock outfit from Michigan, US.

Noisewaves fuse the tones of the 2A03 with roaring post-rock ambience to a create a sound that's absorbing and effortless. On this, their self-titled debut EP, you'll find five introspective yet uplifting instrumentals, where chiptune and guitar mesh to create something extraordinary.

1. If I'm A Baker, You're A Homewrecker 2. Someone Unique 3. Voice Recognition, Everything 4. Horses With Fake Legs 5. Do I Look Like I Want To Play Volleyball?

Download for free here!

New Pterodactyl Squad release from Weave of K.

Pterodactyl Squad have just released Short Attention Fan, a spaced-out 5-track EP from circuit bending artist Weave of K.. Short Attention Fan front cover

Grabbing patches of sound from various Atari 2600 carts and circuit bent toys, Weave of K. crafts soundtracks to outer space trips. The multiple changes and moods within his music represent a person with a spry mind and a short attention span, but the true beauty of Weave of K. is revealed when you take a deeper look at the lush textures and sounds within.

Go download the whole thing for free over at the release page!

New release from NESMETAL on Pterodactyl Squad

Pterodactyl Squad have just released the first part of a brand new faux soundtrack by NESMETAL, Ordimary Nan. Ordimary Nan artwork

Ordimary Nan was a concept for an RPG game born from the mind of NESMETAL, and then developed into a deep storyline and soundtrack. The whole storyline for the tracks on this release will soon be made available on, but for now, enjoy the music of Ordimary Nan OST [Disc 1] and look forward to Discs 2 and 3.

New Pterodactyl Squad release from lpower

lpower (formerly known as Lawrence Power) has just released his latest faux soundtrack with Pterodactyl Squad. This 15 track album is available for free over at the release page.

Emanon is the faux soundtrack to a futuristic RPG racing game that would likely have been played in the 90s in one of those fancy-looking arcade racing booths. Using this concept as a base, lpower took some of his favourite samples from various consoles and synths and used them to craft the music which would play during the racing levels and cut scenes. Typically upbeat, melodic and intelligent, Emanon is a rich exploration of sounds from years gone by.