Multifaros - Dreams EP release

During my regular trek across the internet in search of great tunes I passed by the folks at calmdownkidder records and noticed they have a new album out on their site. This comes from the amazing Multifaros, whom you may remember from his awesome jazz infused track Medical Advice from A Pterodactyl Squad Compilation.

Well now he is back with a brand new album. The newly released Dreams is 6 tracks of upbeat catchy tunes that will have you bobbing your head along through the whole album. Things kick off with the appropriately titled Bouncing with it's bouncy rhythms and flickering chips. The simple vocals and guitar continue to add to the lighthearted mood as well. Next we come to the ambient wistful tones of My Pillow. crunchy distortions play alongside child like piano sounds to create a lullaby style piece that would work great in the credits of any game where it turns out "it was all just a dream."

Next we have the oddly island rhythms emanating from the track Lumberjack. Another dream like song that takes you to a relaxing lounge on a small island paradise. The cheery chirps start off the song, leading into some bending guitar work. The song gently floats along and away into a childlike crash. This brings us to the second half of the album, which kicks off with my personal favorite track Amateur. The strong chipped out rhythm kicks into some light bleeps, and fast paced surf guitar style. All this is interspersed with cut and chopped samples helping give some meaning and context to the songs title. Finally breaking down in a random mixing of sounds.

Just A Dream, which I suppose is the EP's title track has a very disruptive element in it's constantly detuning sounds. As if you are slowly fading in and out of consciousness. As you listen to the song it creates a texture of starts and stops, slowing and gaining speed at practically random intervals. This leads into a broken deep change up alongside a discordant piano fill until falling apart again as if we are coming back to the waking world. The album closes appropriately enough with 7 AM. Looks like the previous song did rouse us from our sleep and it's time to wake up. This thumping tune is just the way to do it as well. Starting off rough, the track picks up speed and sees quite a few change ups, as if taking you on a quick montage of your morning activities. The song finishes with a fade into the distance and closes out this EP in the same dream like manner it started.

This album is definitely worth a listen from on of my fast growing favorites in the chiptune scene. I'll certainly be keeping an eye on Multifaros for any future releases, and will report them to you fine folks here as soon as they see the light of day.

2 new releases from Pterodactyl Squad

Following on from the massive success of Weezer - The 8-bit Album, Pterodactyl Squad have just made two new releases. The first is NESMETAL's latest work, Void:

The prolific NESMETAL returns with his 4th release on Pterodactyl Squad, this his most dark and brooding work to date - Void. Inspired by the release of the retro-styled Mega Man 9 one year ago, NESMETAL decided to go back to basics, using simpler textures and rhythms to take his sound in a new direction. But fear not, the heavy metal themes and complex song structures still remain, making this release another truly interesting and original chapter in the tale of NESMETAL.

Then next we have a compilation full of brand new and unreleased tracks from the artists on Pterodactyl Squad.

  1. Heroes In The Snow - arcadecoma.
  2. Random Encounter In The Cereal Aisle - Spheres of Chaos
  3. Love Prevails - NESMETAL
  4. Medical Advice - Multifaros
  5. Sound Team JDK Homage 01 - Lawrence Power
  6. Candy Poppy - L'homme Manete
  7. Range of Korgameth - Temp Sound Solutions
  8. JW86 takut Wewegombel - Je deviens dj en 3 jours
  9. Mr. Glass - Skip
  10. Sound Team JDK Homage 07 - Lawrence Power
  11. GAYLA - Spamtron
As usual, download them both for free, and look out for a brand new fake soundtrack to come soon from Lawrence Power.

Multifaros - The Factory EP release

Swedish and self described "chip/blipblop-artist" Multifaros is back with an amazing new EP! Five tracks of LSDJ created chiptunes dedicated to all the aspects of factory life. The album is available through either Multifaros' site or the mp3death label site for free download. You can imagine a pixelated montage of factory lines, product ads, and staff meetings throughout the course of the EP. Laid back catchy tunes define the album, and make for a great relaxing listen.