Muse: An 8 Bit Tribute Volume 1 & 2

I am a little late in reporting this, but on a trip through the forums of 8bitcollective I ran across two fan made compilations organized by chjiptune musician Microchip and paying tribute to England based rock group Muse. The first compilation was a modest but strong effort, with seven songs making the final album cut and seeing release about a year ago, on January 13th, 2009. The album collects many of the groups most well known tunes and drops them down to 8 bits or rocking goodness. You can grab the album free through the official 8bc thread

Now what makes this more in line with what can be considered (at least somewhat) timely news. A cadre of musicians from 8bc have gathered again for round 2. Released December 26th, 2009, this album dropped eleven tracks, including personal Muse favorite Citizen Erased, ably covered by FTF. The album contains some of the lesser known and older tracks from Muse, but still holds a few well known singles as well. This one is available for the same non existent price as Volume 1 from this 8bc thread.

Click more for the full track listings for both albums. Volume 1 1. Rushjet1 - Sing for Absolution 2. Sparkyboy - Plug In Baby 3. Beware - Knights of Cydonia 4. Hurigame Boy - Bliss 5. Microchip - Hysteria 6. Rushjet1 - Apocalypse Please 7. Goatslacker - Map of the Problematique

Volume 2 1. Chipso Facto - Exo-Politics 2. FTF - Citizen Erased 3. Bit-Craft 4. Zombectro - Hyper Music 5. Ville Wannabe - Sunburn 6. FTF - Stockholm Syndrome 7. Hot Mess - Uprising 8. Microchip - Fury 9. Goatslacker - Muscle Museum 10. Sparkyboy - Undisclosed Desires 11. Mystic Hero - Space Dementia

Artwork on both albums done by chiptune musician and pixel artist Sparkyboy Presents Hello World! compilation

The ever present and wonderful chiptune community of 8bitcollective has released their first album to the world at large and it presents itself with a hearty Hello World! The free download includes 16 tracks from 16 mainstays of the 8bitcollective community including Nintenboys, Raptorface, and so many more! You can download the album in the appropriate 8bitcollective forum thread. Here is the full track listing now, for all the amazing chiptuners included!

01. MM - 8BC Is Cool
02. Swampyboy - Glacial Floe
03. ChipHydra - Anything with Heart
04. Digital Cait Sith - Krazoa
05. Little-Scale - Hello
06. Raptorface - Cherryblossom
07. Sparkyboy - Gloom
08. Nintenboys - Be Alone
09. Constipation Man - Space Race
10. Failotron - Hello Világ
11. Pandotrix! - Fire Flower Hilltops
12. Amiga Agia - Mustache
13. Mikrochip No32 - On the Move!
14. Derris-Kharlan - Prism Stars
15. Sybi0t - Lazarou
16. Videovalvontaa - Easter Dicks

Front/Back Cover Done by minusbaby

Go download it now! Then check out the amazing community they have over there!