Muse: An 8 Bit Tribute Volume 1 & 2

I am a little late in reporting this, but on a trip through the forums of 8bitcollective I ran across two fan made compilations organized by chjiptune musician Microchip and paying tribute to England based rock group Muse. The first compilation was a modest but strong effort, with seven songs making the final album cut and seeing release about a year ago, on January 13th, 2009. The album collects many of the groups most well known tunes and drops them down to 8 bits or rocking goodness. You can grab the album free through the official 8bc thread

Now what makes this more in line with what can be considered (at least somewhat) timely news. A cadre of musicians from 8bc have gathered again for round 2. Released December 26th, 2009, this album dropped eleven tracks, including personal Muse favorite Citizen Erased, ably covered by FTF. The album contains some of the lesser known and older tracks from Muse, but still holds a few well known singles as well. This one is available for the same non existent price as Volume 1 from this 8bc thread.

Click more for the full track listings for both albums. Volume 1 1. Rushjet1 - Sing for Absolution 2. Sparkyboy - Plug In Baby 3. Beware - Knights of Cydonia 4. Hurigame Boy - Bliss 5. Microchip - Hysteria 6. Rushjet1 - Apocalypse Please 7. Goatslacker - Map of the Problematique

Volume 2 1. Chipso Facto - Exo-Politics 2. FTF - Citizen Erased 3. Bit-Craft 4. Zombectro - Hyper Music 5. Ville Wannabe - Sunburn 6. FTF - Stockholm Syndrome 7. Hot Mess - Uprising 8. Microchip - Fury 9. Goatslacker - Muscle Museum 10. Sparkyboy - Undisclosed Desires 11. Mystic Hero - Space Dementia

Artwork on both albums done by chiptune musician and pixel artist Sparkyboy

Week in Video Game Inspired Music 12/14 – 12/20

Up above here we have awesome Gameboy artwork by 8bitcollective member MassiveUntilMorning, with his simply titled but well done DMGpaintjob. Speaking of artwork, our resident artist Nyno added an epic Earthbound inspired Krakken to the background, if you had not noticed yet. Well besides that, this week saw a few big things, one is the return of Joe Allen to the Gamewave Podcast, another was our very own first ever GM4A Records release of Challenge! by Comptroller. Be sure to check out both of those, not to mention all the other big news this past week below.



REMIXES Latest OCReMix releases

Other singles and releases

VIDEO The video this week is of course from the recently passed Blip Festival 2009. Well perusing for some recaps of the event I came across little-scale's blog and found some footage of the amazing J. Arthur Keenes Band performing pieces from their latest Pause release Pamplemousse.

Remember to leave a comment with awesome articles, songs, videos, art, etc. for next weeks round up as well! Presents Hello World! compilation

The ever present and wonderful chiptune community of 8bitcollective has released their first album to the world at large and it presents itself with a hearty Hello World! The free download includes 16 tracks from 16 mainstays of the 8bitcollective community including Nintenboys, Raptorface, and so many more! You can download the album in the appropriate 8bitcollective forum thread. Here is the full track listing now, for all the amazing chiptuners included!

01. MM - 8BC Is Cool
02. Swampyboy - Glacial Floe
03. ChipHydra - Anything with Heart
04. Digital Cait Sith - Krazoa
05. Little-Scale - Hello
06. Raptorface - Cherryblossom
07. Sparkyboy - Gloom
08. Nintenboys - Be Alone
09. Constipation Man - Space Race
10. Failotron - Hello Világ
11. Pandotrix! - Fire Flower Hilltops
12. Amiga Agia - Mustache
13. Mikrochip No32 - On the Move!
14. Derris-Kharlan - Prism Stars
15. Sybi0t - Lazarou
16. Videovalvontaa - Easter Dicks

Front/Back Cover Done by minusbaby

Go download it now! Then check out the amazing community they have over there!

VGM Related Musical Cheer!

Just wanted to hit you folks with a few festive christmas links for thoes aching to hear holiday tunes, but can't pull yourself away from good old VG inspired music.

First off. 8 Bit Collective has a thread going with some great Christmas songs. Check that out through this link.

Next up, the Gamewave Podcast has put together their latest show, which is completely dedicated to the holidays as well. So head over to and grab their latest episode!

Speaking of excellent podcasts with holiday themes. Also be sure to check out Hipster Please's latest episode of Radio Free Hipster for some holiday nerdcore and more (that rhymes!).

DJ RoboRob has released a Christmas EP which is worth downloading, you can grab that over at his myspace page.

The Oneups made an excellent rendition of Mario and Christmas themes entitled Super Mario Sleigh Ride. You can download it for free off of The OneUps website.

Check out Animal Style's page for plenty of excellent Christmas chiptunes.

Speaking of Christmas chiptunes, Eric Chiptunes also has some holiday cheer on his Myspace page, so check that out as well.

Hope this helps you get in the holiday spirit! and maybe sneak a few of these songs in at any christmas parties you happen to be at!

The Quest for a USB Programmable Cartridge!

That is precisely the quest Jose Torres, AKA BleepBloop, Creator and Administrator for 8bitcollective is on. BleepBloop quickly explains himself and his plans as follows.

"So I guess I should tell you guys a little about myself before we get started. I'm entering my third year this fall in the electrical engineering program at the Rochester Institute of Technology in New York. Ever since I learned about gameboy music, overpriced LSDJ cartridges, Nullsleep and reigner ziegler. I've been on a mission to build a cartridge that is affordable and easy to use."

He goes on to explain what he's been working on, some examples and pictures, and some more technical things. If you want to check out his ongoing work, head over to the thread at 8bc, and if you are a musician looking for an affordable LSDJ solution, consider sending a small donation his way as well.

8 Bit Collective

Just wanted to make a quick announcement. The fine folks behind 8bitcollective have added our feed to their wonderful site, of which I have been a member for some months now. It is a wonderful community in which people can share and discuss chiptunes to their hearts content. Many awesome artists participate and post quite often on the site, including Dot.AY and the G-Nomes. Head on over to their site and sign up. They are doing a wonderful thing for the chiptune community and deserve all our support. Find me on the site as well, the names Genoboost.